PUT EXTRA MONEY IN YOUR POCKET
https://www.ebates.com/r/SYBIL414?eeid=29041

What exotic animal should I start with?

Bears, Hyena, Sloths, Binturongs, Red Panda, Fossa, Seals etc.

Moderators: Ash, TamanduaGirl

Lilcuz

What exotic animal should I start with?

Postby Lilcuz » Wed Jul 15, 2015 1:06 pm

I couldn't figure out where to put this so I put it here. In my future years, I wish to own a Spotted Hyena, yet I have zero experience with exotics, other than holding marmosets and petting a tiger when I was two :P So, I was wondering what a good starter exotic would be. Preferably mammals, as I get kind of freaked out at reptiles and last time I had a bird, my dog was craving "KFC". I'd also rather not start with rodents as when I get attached to an animal and it dies, I go into an emotional breakdown and barely eat. Something small and not to high maintenance, but can live on average 12 years at least. I was think about this :happyfox: Thanks!
List of animals I'd love to have:

Common Marmoset, Fennec Fox pair, Rock Hyrax, Red Fox, African Wild Dog, Striped Hyena, Grey Wolf, Spotted Hyena, Grizzly Bear, Lion, Wolverine, Giraffe, Komodo Dragon, Silverback Gorilla
TamanduaGirl
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: What exotic animal should I start with?

Postby TamanduaGirl » Wed Jul 15, 2015 4:12 pm

Rabbits have a lifespan of 8-12 years.

Chinchillas about 10 years.

Ferrets are a good started but are only 8 years.

On the bit more advanced but still starter level just a higher starter level, a skunk might be perfect. Captive lifespan is 10-15 years. The hardest part about them is sticking to their diet so they don't get fat and making sure they get plenty of socialization and enrichment.