PUT EXTRA MONEY IN YOUR POCKET
https://www.ebates.com/r/SYBIL414?eeid=29041

Will my situation be good for a fox or a skunk?

Hedgehogs, Rabbits, Skunks, Squirrels, Bats, genets, civets etc.

Moderators: Ash, TamanduaGirl

River

Postby River » Wed May 16, 2012 8:00 pm

Hi, I've been researching adding a fox to our family for a couple years, and have the opportunity to bring home a baby, but I want to make sure he/she will be happy.

Points I think are in our favor:

1. We own our own house.

2. We have a fully fenced in backyard with 75% in a 6 foot privacy fence. The rest is chain link that we've been thinking about replacing.

3. We do have a wire fence panel dog pen that's fairly large, but it's not set up at this point in time- we had to have it to get a permit to keep a skunk if we decide to get one.

4. We do have experience with a variety of exotics, such as skunks, sugar gliders, and coatimundi (one of my favorite all time species).

5. I have experience making my own food for my pets, and if I were to bring home another pet, he/she would get food designed for his/her species.

6. I babysat my friend's skunks a couple times and loved them.

7. Our house is already critter proofed and there are no exposed wires/areas for the baby to get into trouble in.

8. I already have a small pen to use to litter train the baby while he/she is young.

Points maybe not in our favor:

1. We have small dogs who are used to exotics, but still, I don't want them eaten, lol.

2. We have a nasty neighbor across the street. When we first moved in four years ago, he threatened us with animal control, but has left us alone (knock on wood) for the last two years. If he did call animal control, I would move before rehoming anyone, that's a fact.

3. I do have a captive wildlife permit, though if I get a fox, based on my research, I don't need one unless its a red fox.