PUT EXTRA MONEY IN YOUR POCKET
https://www.ebates.com/r/SYBIL414?eeid=29041

oops (sorry, loooong post)

Chickens, Ducks, Geese, Guineas,Turkeys. Pheasants etc

Moderators: Ash, TamanduaGirl

Trefoil

oops (sorry, loooong post)

Postby Trefoil » Sun May 23, 2010 4:28 pm

I decided to try to hatch out some of my guinea eggs this year, and as guineas aren't too big ( or at least mine aren't) on being broody, i bought an incubator. Once it came, I got tired of waiting for my guins to start laying and decided to try runner ducks ( they're really funny looking), so I bought eggs from ebay. The lady sent me 12, 3 were broken and the rest were dirty, I've never tried hatching anything before so I wrote on the guinea forum asking if they would be all right. Everybody wrote saying they shouldn't be dirty and may not hatch, so I put the remaining eggs in the incubator just in case and ordered 6 more eggs from someone else. They sent 9 and no broken ones.
8 of the first batch hatched and 7 of the second batch , and 1 guinea egg of the 3 i snuck in hatched, all a week apart. I have one room in my house that Chloe (coon) isn't allowed in. I had to get the lone guinea company, so got her a guinea and a cochin for company, so I now have 18 babies in my computer room. They are really messy ( the ducks). But they really are cute. Does anybody want a couple of runner ducks?
Lasergrl

Postby Lasergrl » Sun May 23, 2010 4:57 pm

Duck eggs are usually really dirty and hatch just fine that way. I just moved some 2 week old mule ducklings (half muscovy half runner) outside. Finally warm enough out. :bear stinky messy things.
Trefoil

do you have a light on them?

Postby Trefoil » Sun May 23, 2010 8:06 pm

How cold is it getting at night? I've finally got the ducks out during the day, but haven't tried at night yet. I'm afraid they'll get chilled.
BB

Postby BB » Mon May 24, 2010 1:27 am

Sorry to hijack the post but since you are talking about guinea eggs.....