PUT EXTRA MONEY IN YOUR POCKET
https://www.ebates.com/r/SYBIL414?eeid=29041

This is SO bizzare i really need some advice here.

(Emus, Rheas, Ostriches, Cassowary)

Moderators: Ash, TamanduaGirl

Mechillemybell

This is SO bizzare i really need some advice here.

Postby Mechillemybell » Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:23 am

I am pretty new to being an emu owner and the first emu we adopted was 4 mos old, we didn't know the sex of it so we called it Zali. Then a few months later we adopted a breeding pair, we call them Poppy and Leelah.
When Zali was about 10 mos. old we heard grunting like Poppy does so we knew Zali was a boy, and soon after the grunting, Poppy and Zali looked to be fighting slot...going after each in a not so nice manner, so we desperate them and leave Leelah and Poppy together.
Zali recently turned 2 yrs old and here comes the BIZZARE part...Zali has been BOOMING FOR DAYS!!!! But for the past few months Poppy has been running towards the fence that separates them and snapping at Zali with his mouth.

My questions are:
Can I put Zali in with Poppy and Leelah or is Poppys aggressive behavior too aggressive? Do males sometimes not like a certain female? Can a female Emu lay eggs that are not fertile if they do not have a male emu?
Oh my goodness....if any of you could give me some advice here, it would be a blessing. I love all three of my emus very much! Thank you, Mechille
pat
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: This is SO bizzare i really need some advice here.

Postby pat » Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:37 am

wow, thats a tough one for me. I never had the aggression problem.

if he is hitting the fence, maybe try leaving then separate for awhile.
if there is a way you can remove the female if they fight, you could give it a try.

as far as I know, emu's don't generally kill another emu.

not sure, but, I think emu's can lay eggs that are not fertile.

how big is their pen?

if I can remember correctly, sometimes emu male/female will bond. but, only one on one.