PUT EXTRA MONEY IN YOUR POCKET
https://www.ebates.com/r/SYBIL414?eeid=29041

First time Raccoon parents...failing...

Coatimundis, Kinkajous, Raccoons, Ringtails, Cacomistles, Olingos

Moderators: Ash, TamanduaGirl

Kathryn318

First time Raccoon parents...failing...

Postby Kathryn318 » Sun Jul 30, 2017 6:31 pm

Im new to this page! This is my first post. We have a female raccoon whos around 4-5 months. We got her when she was 3-4 weeks old and bottle fed her. When she was being bottle fed she was very affectionate and cuddly. Now she is a terror. We used to be able to put a collar/harness on her no problem but now she attacks us if we even try. If we try to pick her up most of the time she growls and bites us. She drew blood twice. I understand the play bites but not being aggressive like this. Weve never been rough with her. I dont really know how to correct this or what I can do at all. Please help!!
Ana

Re: First time Raccoon parents...failing...

Postby Ana » Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:17 pm

Females can be more emotional and reactive. The first two years with any coon involve a lot of
you being educated by them in regards to what they like and will tolerate. If she's attacking the collar and harness, it's because she doesn't like it, doesn't want it. I've got four and nobody has ever tolerated a harness or collar, goodness knows we've tried!